120-hour TEFL Course in Madrid, Spain with Job Placement!
Baxter International TEFL School

120-hour TEFL Course in Madrid, Spain with Job Placement!
Baxter International TEFL School

View Thread | Post Response | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

Dave's ESL Cafe's Teacher Training Forum

Re: Teaching in Asia without TEFL

Posted By: nomad soul
Date: Thursday, 14 September 2017, at 7:18 p.m.

In Response To: Teaching in Asia without TEFL (Guilherme Lima)

I always loved to work as teacher/trainer during my whole life. I worked before as a cooking teacher (I have a bachelor degree in Gastronomy), as a certified Trainer Analyst for Apple over 2 years and I'm current living in Sydney where I just finished a Leadership and Management Diploma.

My time is running out, my visa will end soon and I know that I need to continue my journey. I just left Brazil a year ago and I donít pretend to come back now. I was raised in a bilingual environment since I remember, learned a lot by myself (and in English schools) during adolescence and got fluent by sharing the language with native speakers over the Internet, with friends, at work and abroad.

I have this dream to live in Asia since I was a kid, watching Anime and listening to K-pop songs, wondering if this dream would ever become reality at some point. Obviously, I was never as close to Asia like I am now and I donít want to miss this huge opportunity. It is really my desire to teach English (or anything else really) in Asia and to experience this amazing culture. Living in Australia is unbelievably expensive and still, I managed to save some money to travel and to stay in Asia for a while, but Iím afraid that I canít afford a TEFL certification right now or anything similar.