Oxford Seminars - 100 Course Locations Throughout The US & Canada
Oxford Seminars - 100 Course Locations Throughout The US & Canada

120-hour TEFL Course in Madrid, Spain with Job Placement!
Baxter International TEFL School

View Thread | Post Response | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

Dave's ESL Cafe's Teacher Training Forum

Re: MA TESOL: Worth It For Me?

Posted By: nomad soul
Date: Sunday, 24 April 2016, at 7:32 p.m.

In Response To: Re: MA TESOL: Worth It For Me? (Mike McLelland)

I should have explained my situation more fully.

I have a bachelor's in journalism and spent time as a journalist, editor, communications and marketing positions.

I am not looking to get rich doing this. I am burned out and looking for something that is personally rewarding to me. I believe teaching English to foreign learners will do that for me.

I expect to enter into 12-month contracts, or potentially six month options if available.

I can get the TEFL certificate and apply for positions. From what I understand I have a reasonable expectation of securing positions at private language schools. I am wondering if, with a MA TESOL, I can more easily get positions in public schools or universities, which would mean higher pay. Over the course of the next 11 years or so I was wondering if someone could give me an opinion of whether those higher paying positions would equate to the cost of the MA, thus having the degree pay for itself.

Thoughts?

Your questions are more related to job opportunities than teacher training at this point because it depends on where you want to go. TEFL isn't one size fits all; employers and country immigration/work permit requirements vary.