Internationally Recognized Online TESOL / TEFL Certificate & Diploma Courses
ONTESOL

You want MORE! TEFL International is the best choice!
More locations: Now over THIRTY. More choices: special programs, volunteer positions, language classes. More security: Members of BBB, all courses externally moderated. More Accurate Info: No hand-picked testimonials, all course feedback availble online. More Support: worldwide lifetime placement assistance. More Experience-running worldwide courses for 10+ years. More FUN! ...... TEFL International

View Thread | Post Response | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

Dave's ESL Cafe's Teacher Training Forum

Re: TESOL certification online?

Posted By: nomad soul
Date: Sunday, 16 March 2014, at 7:28 p.m.

In Response To: TESOL certification online? (z)

I have a PhD in English Literature from the top research school in Auckland, NZ, and I've got lots of teaching experience at the university level, but I only have a little ESL experience. I'd like to get TESOL certification so I can apply for temporary work overseas or in the states (I'm a US citizen). I wouldn't mind working in China, the UK, etc. So what's my best option? I found an online course that's 120 hours for 250 and another similar course from a different organization for 295. But nothing about these certification programs encourage a sense of commitment -- I'm still sceptical about paying for something that doesn't really get me the credentials I need to apply for jobs that I see online (like at www.jobs.ac.uk).

Any (non biased) advice would really help, and I'm on a limited budget because I'm out of work right now.