Internationally Recognized Online TESOL / TEFL Certificate & Diploma Courses
ONTESOL

You want MORE! TEFL International is the best choice!
More locations: Now over THIRTY. More choices: special programs, volunteer positions, language classes. More security: Members of BBB, all courses externally moderated. More Accurate Info: No hand-picked testimonials, all course feedback availble online. More Support: worldwide lifetime placement assistance. More Experience-running worldwide courses for 10+ years. More FUN! ...... TEFL International

View Thread | Post Response | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

Dave's ESL Cafe's Teacher Training Forum

Re: Can an MA TESOL teach lit. at a U abroad?

Posted By: nomad soul
Date: Sunday, 15 December 2013, at 1:41 a.m.

In Response To: Can an MA TESOL teach lit. at a U abroad? (Jeremy)

In 2011 I graduated from a state U in the US with a BA in English lit. and I am currently teaching EFL in the Peace Corps. I have strongly considered getting an MA and PhD in lit. as lit. is what I have always loved, but the highly competitive non-tenure track future of the lit. PhD at a US university nowadays has disenchanted me from this idea.

Instead, more and more it seems like teaching English abroad is an excellent field to get into, in terms of both job growth and personal growth.

Now I am researching getting an MA TESOL. Ultimately, I want to teach literature, composition, creative writing, US history, or US culture as subjects at the university level overseas. I could also see myself teaching resume/cover letter writing or helping students prep for the TEFL exam.

Is teaching such subjects possible with an MA TESOL? Do such subjects exist in universities abroad, or are they integrated under the broader category of "English class"?