Internationally Recognized Online TESOL / TEFL Certificate & Diploma Courses
ONTESOL

You want MORE! TEFL International is the best choice!
More locations: Now over THIRTY. More choices: special programs, volunteer positions, language classes. More security: Members of BBB, all courses externally moderated. More Accurate Info: No hand-picked testimonials, all course feedback availble online. More Support: worldwide lifetime placement assistance. More Experience-running worldwide courses for 10+ years. More FUN! ...... TEFL International

View Thread | Post Response | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

Dave's ESL Cafe's Teacher Training Forum

IDELT or Anaheim?

Posted By: Tesolator <srkoskinen@gmail.com>
Date: Saturday, 8 June 2013, at 1:26 p.m.

Hi,
I'm 57 years old, with a BA in English Lit. I worked as a healthcare educator for over eight years. Two years ago, I closed that door to pursue a career in ESOL. I've been tutoring ESL and TOEFL students since then, enjoying it immensely, and wanting to move forward.

The problem is that I just don't want to go through the MA program. I'm hoping if I can find the right path to walk,then my past experience, my age, and a program that teaches the "meat" of ESL education, would give me what I need to pursue opportunities in and outside of the U.S.

I read alot of good things about the "BridgeTEFL" program (IDELT), and for the money (1000 online/2600 in person), I see what appears to be a strong program (Both courses are endorsed by the University of Northern Colorado). I have also come across a year-long program in California at Anaheim University. They call it an "Undergraduate Diploma," but it is not accredited. Their tuition is 10,000 for a year. Their classes look pretty good, but they make it available to "non-degreed" people only (Which I'm sure I can get around).